College financial-aid program · Warwick, Rhode Island, United States

Rhode Island Promise

Rhode Island Promise is a Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) program covering eligible remaining tuition and mandatory fees for recent resident graduates. It works as last-dollar aid: Pell, SEOG, institutional grants, and other gift aid are applied first; Promise covers the remaining eligible charge based on tuition and credits. It does not pay for books or all living expenses, and summer coverage depends on funding, so “tuition-free” does not mean zero total cost. The

About Rhode Island Promise

Rhode Island Promise is a Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) program covering eligible remaining tuition and mandatory fees for recent resident graduates. It works as last-dollar aid: Pell, SEOG, institutional grants, and other gift aid are applied first; Promise covers the remaining eligible charge based on tuition and credits. It does not pay for books or all living expenses, and summer coverage depends on funding, so “tuition-free” does not mean zero total cost.

The fall 2026 cohort must be Rhode Island residents, graduate from high school or complete a GED/HSE, and enroll at CCRI in the immediately following term in an associate-degree program. Students generally must be 18 or younger at graduation; those aged 19, 20, or 21 may submit a documented appeal. Apply through MyCCRI with the 2026–27 FAFSA and final transcript. Ask One Stop which specific forms appear on your account dashboard.

Renewal requires at least a 2.5 GPA, enrollment every semester, and at least 24 credits completed during the first year; 30 are recommended to finish in two years. A disability-related reduced course load has a separate accommodation process. If you are starting this fall, file FAFSA and review MyCCRI requirements promptly. Current guidance does not state a cash award because the calculation is made against your actual bill. Ask the college to estimate books, transportation, and charges outside the coverage.

Who it serves and what it can cover: Rhode Island Promise is a Community College of Rhode Island (CCRI) program covering eligible remaining tuition and mandatory fees for recent resident graduates. It works as last-dollar aid: Pell, SEOG, institutional grants, and other gift aid are applied first; Promise covers the remaining eligible charge based on tuition and credits. It does not pay for books or all living expenses, and summer coverage depends on funding, so “tuition-free” does not mean zero total cost. The fall 2026 cohort must be Rhode Island residents, graduate from high school or complete a GED/HSE, and enroll at CCRI in the immediately following term in an associate-degree program. Students generally must be 18 or younger at graduation; those aged 19, 20, or 21 may submit a documented appeal. Apply through MyCCRI with the 2026–27 FAFSA and final transcript. Ask One Stop which specific forms appear on your account dashboard.

How to apply or get help: Renewal requires at least a 2.5 GPA, enrollment every semester, and at least 24 credits completed during the first year; 30 are recommended to finish in two years. A disability-related reduced course load has a separate accommodation process. If you are starting this fall, file FAFSA and review MyCCRI requirements promptly. Current guidance does not state a cash award because the calculation is made against your actual bill. Ask the college to estimate books, transportation, and charges outside the coverage. For case-specific questions, contact the program or financial-aid office named on its official page.

Official application and program information

In brief

College financial-aid program