Colleges & Universities · Pine Bluff, Arkansas, United States

Jefferson Regional School of Nursing

Jefferson Regional School of Nursing is a Pine Bluff nursing school offering a selective Associate of Applied Science program. Applicants should plan prerequisite courses, the ATI TEAS exam, required records, and federal aid well ahead of the January or July entry dates.

About Jefferson Regional School of Nursing

Jefferson Regional School of Nursing (JRSON) is a focused route into registered nursing for students ready to complete college prerequisites and a selective, on-campus nursing program. Its Associate of Applied Science in Nursing combines classroom learning with skills and simulation practice and clinical experience. The Arkansas State Board of Nursing approves the program; graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN. The school announced that its associate nursing program received initial accreditation from the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) effective May 14, 2025. Applicants should confirm how the program’s current approval and accreditation apply to their intended state of licensure.

What you study and where training happens

This is a single-program nursing school rather than a college with a long list of majors. The pathway is designed for students preparing for entry-level RN practice, with instruction at JRSON and clinical experiences across local hospitals and health-care settings. Before applying, compare the school’s current catalog and curriculum with your completed coursework; the admissions page says Anatomy and Physiology I and II must be less than five years old.

Admission is selective and starts with prerequisites

JRSON admits cohorts in January and July. The published application deadlines are November 1 for January entry and June 1 for July entry, and each cohort is limited. Complete all prerequisites before acceptance: English Composition I and II, Anatomy and Physiology I and II, Microbiology, College Algebra, and General Psychology. Applicants also need a high-school diploma or GED, official high-school and college transcripts, an ATI TEAS score of at least 60, an ACT score (the school says it is required but not used to determine admission), current CPR certification through an American Heart Association BLS provider, and the required immunization records. A prior nursing-program applicant must provide a letter of good standing. Selection considers GPA, academic history, and TEAS performance. The current published application fee is $200; verify the amount and deadlines before submitting. Start with the school’s admission requirements and application, or contact Admissions at (870) 541-7858 or mcdonaldc@jrmc.org.

JRSON is not certified in SEVIS and says it cannot accept international students on student visas or applicants who are not U.S. citizens. Applicants whose circumstances do not fit the standard checklist should get a written answer from Admissions before paying the application fee or arranging prerequisite courses.

Build a realistic financial-aid plan

The school’s published financial-aid route begins with the FAFSA; JRSON’s federal school code is 016498. The school identifies Pell Grants, Federal Direct Loans, and veterans’ education benefits among the options students may investigate. A separate school page also describes the Children of Fallen Heroes benefit for eligible students with a parent or guardian who died in the line of duty as a public-safety officer. Eligibility is determined by the relevant federal or state program, so confirm current requirements with the financial-aid office. Jefferson Regional Foundation says it supports nursing scholarships, but public information reviewed here did not specify current award amounts or applicant criteria; ask JRSON whether a scholarship is open for your cohort rather than budgeting around an unconfirmed award. Use the school’s financial-aid and scholarship information and request a current itemized tuition-and-fee estimate before enrolling.

Pine Bluff campus and questions to ask

The school lists one main campus at 4747 Dusty Lake Drive, Pine Bluff, AR 71603. Its Nursing office hours are Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m.–4:30 p.m.; Friday hours are not stated on the admissions page, so call before a Friday visit. The main school number is (870) 541-7858. Jefferson Regional’s separate hospital mailing/contact address is 1600 West 40th Avenue, also in Pine Bluff; that is not the nursing-school campus address.

Before committing, ask how the published prerequisites transfer from your current college, when clinical rotations are scheduled, what additional costs apply to uniforms, testing, supplies, and travel, and what support is available if you need to repeat a course. Also request the latest cohort-specific NCLEX outcomes and written confirmation of the application fee and aid package. Public comments found for this school did not provide enough substantive detail to describe student experiences reliably, so these direct questions will be more useful than treating a thin review record as a guide to classroom or clinical life.

In brief

Associate of Applied Science in Nursing (AAS), a prelicensure registered-nursing program with coursework, simulation, and clinical learning; graduates may apply to take the NCLEX-RN.